[Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

[Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Grimtongue on 10/14/2014, 11:10 am

Minestatus has had an overall positive impact on the Oasis community.  The server rank and the reviews have convinced many good members to check out Oasis.  Way back when I was looking for a good MC server to join, I read the reviews and a few forum posts before I logged on for the first time.

Lately, the number of votes has been lower than in the past.  I've asked a number of the most active members of Oasis why they don't vote, and they all say the same thing: 'I don't need the coins'  I also noticed that there hasn't been any fresh reviews in a long while.

The reason to vote is not for the reward of coins.
The reason to vote is the reward of new people joining Oasis, keeping the server alive!


What are you waiting for? It takes less than a minute to vote on both sites, so go do it already.
https://minestatus.net/2710-oasis-smp
http://minecraftservers.org/server/107106

While you're on the voting site, you can write a review if you haven't done that already.  A sentence or two is plenty enough to show people that Oasis is a great place.


Last edited by Grimtongue on 10/14/2014, 11:15 am; edited 4 times in total (Reason for editing : fixed url. fixed url again. oh come on! fixed. no now it's fixed.)

Grimtongue
Gold Miner
Gold Miner

Posts : 470
Join date : 2012-11-28
Age : 36
Location : Massachusetts

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by 4emersons on 10/14/2014, 11:37 am

Vouch.

4emersons
Master Miner
Master Miner

Posts : 2124
Join date : 2013-01-11
Age : 17
Location : Minnesota, USA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by madscientist032 on 10/14/2014, 2:15 pm

4emersons wrote:Vouch.

_________________


madscientist032
Oasis SMP Owner
Oasis SMP Owner

Posts : 3762
Join date : 2011-02-09
Age : 25
Location : Black Mesa Research Facility, New Mexico

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/user/madscientist032

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by retkojy on 10/14/2014, 2:25 pm

sorry oasis I better start voting I always forget but ill do it daily now!

retkojy
Diamond Miner
Diamond Miner

Posts : 662
Join date : 2014-05-21
Age : 14
Location : Nigeria

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by LordTomenon on 10/14/2014, 3:16 pm

To tell the truth, I mostly forgot about voting ever since 1.8 Oasis came about. Thank you for bringing this to light.

LordTomenon
Gold Miner
Gold Miner

Posts : 324
Join date : 2013-03-19
Age : 15
Location : A Trash Can

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Fithboy on 10/14/2014, 3:18 pm

This exactly. I just have both sites as bookmarks on my phone and vote as soon as I connect to the school WiFi when I get in. We've dropped from about rank 100 down to 200 in the space of a few months and it's making a real impact on the number of new players. That and 1.8 I guess

Fithboy
Diamond Miner
Diamond Miner

Posts : 726
Join date : 2014-01-15
Age : 18
Location : Liverpewl

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/user/xxXDennoXxx/

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Shnoork on 10/14/2014, 3:32 pm

I havent voted in ages, I always rely on the in-game reminders. Guess that doesnt really work when you dont really get online... I think I'll be following Fiths example henceforth.

Shnoork
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Posts : 1259
Join date : 2013-01-11
Age : 18
Location : Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Dementia_bourne on 10/14/2014, 5:06 pm

SERIOUSLY! the answer was they didn't need the coins!!!!??? omg... come on guys! i vote every day! its part of my wake up routine. my first time voting i read what the site was for and it stated that the higher the number of votes each month determine the rank of the server. in the highest numbers the server gets put onto google, firefox, IE search engines 1 MONTH FOR FREE! in case you guys didn't know getting a site, or server, or business so show up on these search engines can cost anywhere from $75 - $1,900 dollars EACH MONTH!

Words are failing me as my anger is just shy of seeing red! COME ON! this is a part of how we help keep our home growing, RUNNING, and promoted FOR FREE! we are FAILING our HOME!

THANK YOU for posting this thread!

NOW GET YOUR REARS IN GEAR AND VOTE!

Dementia_bourne
Iron Miner
Iron Miner

Posts : 83
Join date : 2014-03-23
Age : 32
Location : Ma.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by FerociousFeline on 10/14/2014, 6:31 pm

i cant get over grim's signature o-o

FerociousFeline
Redstone Miner
Redstone Miner

Posts : 236
Join date : 2014-03-02
Age : 21
Location : America, TX, Houston

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Guest on 10/14/2014, 6:58 pm

If we had the same amount of votes everyday that we had today we'd be so much higher:


I wonder how high we can get dat number.

Mallory I am disappoint:

You're on my ip, you should be voting every day

Vote everyday, or I'll steal your votes and eat the coins l:

-
edit:
Bit off topic to smp, but if any of you guys also play pixelmon, they have like 5 vote links ._."
Spoiler:

http://www.mineservers.net/servers/400-oasis-pixelmon/vote
http://www.mcs-list.org/index.php?action=vote&id=31525
http://www.planetminecraft.com/server/oasis-pixelmon/
https://minestatus.net/94538-oasis-pixelmon
http://minecraft-server-list.com/server/182392/vote/


Last edited by Lina on 10/17/2014, 1:17 pm; edited 1 time in total

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by shadeyghost on 10/15/2014, 12:15 am

lol wow, i cant believe that they would say "i don't need the coins" the only reason i dont vote is cuz my computer can only take so muuch now, ima have ti uninstall liek, everything, i will try getting back into it tho, thx for reminding me

shadeyghost
Gold Miner
Gold Miner

Posts : 411
Join date : 2013-09-14
Age : 17
Location : idk, where are you? >:D

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Rayvenx on 10/15/2014, 8:59 pm

Honestly, that's the problem with giving rewards for things that are supposed to be voluntary. They associate the action with the reward to begin with and then once that reward isn't as attractive (in this case, coin inflation) they don't have that same drive. It's natural and I'm "guilty" of it myself. Those that find it and the server important of the time out of their day to vote, will vote. Personally, it's not a matter of it not being important, my life has become extremely busy lately and I don't have time to play any games.

Rayvenx
Dirt Digger
Dirt Digger

Posts : 21
Join date : 2014-08-03
Age : 26
Location : USA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Guest on 10/16/2014, 2:20 am

If people only voted for the reward, and the votes didn't give one, I doubt those people would have bothered to vote on a regular basis to begin with.

I think the problem is some people won't take 2 minutes out of their day to do something if that something doesn't directly and/or instantly benefit them, regardless of whether they have time to play the game or not.

For the people who simply forget (to vote, the community benefit, etc), reminders work well. This thread reminder alone pushed us up to 14 votes on October 14th. If we can keep up the enthusiasm and continue to remind people, there will be a lot more votes up there.

For those only interested in the reward, I seriously doubt taking away the reward is going to increase votes. If they aren't voting because the reward no longer benefits them, then taking it away completely isn't going to help. Waybackwhen, the reward used to be iron ingots. It changed to money, around 1.4 update. Changing the reward to a scarce item or resource that most people need may help in this case. But with 1.7 practically dead, and no plugins for votifier on 1.8, it will be difficult to find an alternate incentive for voting until the official 1.8 update.

But the purpose of this thread is a Call to Action, so let me get back on topic now.
I'm going to help bump this thread every day or so, with the updated mineservers.org vote graph from bit.ly/oasisvv, and provide the vote links at the bottom of each day's posts. I will also include the current votes from the day + the vote count for the past few days. Let's see how high we can get the numbers, it's almost like a game in itself.

[past]Oct 14: 14 votes
[past]Oct 15: 10 votes
[current]Oct 16: 1 vote
Vote @ minestatus
Vote @ mineservers

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Cheerioes on 10/16/2014, 12:25 pm

This may sound dumb, but the main reason I don't vote is because of the newCaptcha. It takes forever to load, it plays loud music to scare me off, and if I get something wrong, I have to start all over in. And the fact that I have to do a whole bunch of clicking. It's tedious

Cheerioes
Gold Miner
Gold Miner

Posts : 301
Join date : 2013-07-14
Age : 19
Location : AZ

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by MegaScary2 on 10/16/2014, 1:49 pm

Cheerioes wrote:This may sound dumb, but the main reason I don't vote is because of the newCaptcha. It takes forever to load, it plays loud music to scare me off, and if I get something wrong, I have to start all over in. And the fact that I have to do a whole bunch of clicking. It's tedious

It is worth it in the long run though.... more votes means we are higher on the rank system and more players notice us.... more player means we keep this server going.... Taking 2-3 min out of my day to vote to me is worth it..

MegaScary2
Gold Miner
Gold Miner

Posts : 380
Join date : 2014-02-15
Age : 24
Location : Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Shnoork on 10/16/2014, 2:42 pm

I would also like to point out how ridiculous those captchas are. At first, just silly words were great. Exercises the minds creativity. Then it was these strings of numbers that were a pain cuz all the numbers are so far apart on the keyboard and GOD FORBID you get ONE NUMBER WRONG. I dont know if this is just IOS, but now theres this grid and you have to click a bunch of pictures in sequence. Honestly, who comes up with this stuff? Who are they trying to appeal to?

Mildly off topic, still a good question tho

Shnoork
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Posts : 1259
Join date : 2013-01-11
Age : 18
Location : Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by 4emersons on 10/16/2014, 4:54 pm

Cheerioes wrote:This may sound dumb, but the main reason I don't vote is because of the newCaptcha. It takes forever to load, it plays loud music to scare me off, and if I get something wrong, I have to start all over in. And the fact that I have to do a whole bunch of clicking. It's tedious
I agree it is somewhat annoying, but it only takes a couple minutes. And you don't have to sit there staring at that specific tab while it is loading, you can click it, go back to Minecraft for a couple minutes, then when it is done loading, go back and complete the action. As for the music, if it is anything like mine, you can just click mute on the video. 
Shnoork wrote:I would also like to point out how ridiculous those captchas are. At first, just silly words were great. Exercises the minds creativity. Then it was these strings of numbers that were a pain cuz all the numbers are so far apart on the keyboard and GOD FORBID you get ONE NUMBER WRONG. I dont know if this is just IOS, but now theres this grid and you have to click a bunch of pictures in sequence. Honestly, who comes up with this stuff? Who are they trying to appeal to?

Mildly off topic, still a good question tho
Clicking four pictures, in my opinion, isn't that hard. Some of the pictures are a bit weird, but none that are tough to see what exactly they are. 

And they are probably just trying to keep things fresh for the people. Not sure why they pick what they pick, but I like it.

4emersons
Master Miner
Master Miner

Posts : 2124
Join date : 2013-01-11
Age : 17
Location : Minnesota, USA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Guest on 10/16/2014, 5:58 pm

Cheerioes wrote:This may sound dumb, but the main reason I don't vote is because of the newCaptcha. It takes forever to load, it plays loud music to scare me off, and if I get something wrong, I have to start all over in. And the fact that I have to do a whole bunch of clicking. It's tedious

Sometimes they're easy, other times they're confusing, and then there's those moments when I just look at the pictures and think "the hell is this, the hell is that o-o"
-
On another note, I literally had this response typed out in the replytopost page for over 4* hours before realizing I hadn't submitted it yet ._."


Last edited by Lina on 10/16/2014, 5:59 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : typo intensified)

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by ThunderHorse on 10/16/2014, 11:20 pm

Wow i never looked at the reasons why others dont vote a lot i'm Guilty of it as well but now im going to vote every day or at least every other day. I dont vote for the coins anymore since i can spawn almost everything i need plus i got tons of coins anyway (at least until some1 sells me like 5K in enderpearls)

ThunderHorse
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Posts : 1400
Join date : 2013-08-03
Age : 19
Location : Michigan, USA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by NostrumDomus on 10/17/2014, 11:43 am

I will be honest and say that the main reason I don't vote is because out of all of the things I have to get done within the day, it simply slips my mind (Well not as of late, Agwyn's made sure of that XD) But I've made a sticky note on my desktop in bright pink with the links ready to go, everyday. 

HOWEVER. I can't vote on the minecraft servers one. It keeps saying I already voted? Unless I'm doing it in my sleep >.>

NostrumDomus
Redstone Miner
Redstone Miner

Posts : 230
Join date : 2014-08-30
Age : 25
Location : Tennessee

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Guest on 10/17/2014, 12:25 pm

NostrumDomus wrote:
HOWEVER. I can't vote on the minecraft servers one. It keeps saying I already voted? Unless I'm doing it in my sleep >.>

If you have someone voting from the same ipaddress that might be why XD
My cousin uses mine I:

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Grimtongue on 10/17/2014, 12:51 pm

I understand that voting daily is an unrealistic goal, and I don't think anyone should feel pressured into doing that. I don't like the list showing who voted - that information should be private, maybe just for the staff to review...

Personally, I just vote as frequently as I can, which is usually around 15 times per month. Even if you only vote once a week, that's infinitely better than not voting at all.

Grimtongue
Gold Miner
Gold Miner

Posts : 470
Join date : 2012-11-28
Age : 36
Location : Massachusetts

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Guest on 10/17/2014, 1:12 pm

Grimtongue wrote:I don't like the list showing who voted

The graph or that topvote list thing? It's part of their site so I'm not sure if we can take it off x.x
-
edit: Oddly not accessible if you've already voted for the day it seems. Pops up on the side when people click to vote :\
weird I:
I like the graph tho it's been lifting my spirits (J.3.)J
-
edit:
remembered I'd actually posted the list somewhere in here to poke fun at mallory. Deleted all info under her part. It's still publicly viewable though, on the site... not much I can do about that

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Keichi on 10/17/2014, 2:37 pm

Lina wrote:
You're on my ip, you should be voting every day
@Lina l: jk ty for reminder i need coins

@~ there's 11 votes so far today .o. and it's only 2:30 eastern time

Keichi
Dirt Digger
Dirt Digger

Posts : 23
Join date : 2014-09-04
Age : 19
Location : NewCastle DE / Glenolden PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: [Call to Action] Vote for and review Oasis-SMP

Post by Dementia_bourne on 10/22/2014, 3:16 pm

the sites both say what the captcha's are for... or am i the only one here who reads damn near everything on a site... anyways they are to prevent people from setting up auto vote bots which by default run hundreds to hundreds of thousands of site checks a day and can lag out/ crash the voting servers. its their way of protecting themselves.

now the real reason im posting in this thread again is because i am very happy with those of you that outvoted me this month. i went from 3rd to 20th in a week and a half! THANK YOU! it shows me you guys are back to voting and by default this will help our server immensely! 

You all have my thanks and gratitude! *hugs all around* keep up the good work guys!

Dementia_bourne
Iron Miner
Iron Miner

Posts : 83
Join date : 2014-03-23
Age : 32
Location : Ma.

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum